Solidarity Bank

…some thoughts from Ian Chamberlain

Democracy and Process: The Real Power of Occupy LSX

leave a comment »

General Assembly at Occupy LSX

Writing from Occupy LSX, Ian Chamberlain argues the real power of the movement is the new world of possibilities it has created, built on consensus, cooperation and a rejection of the corporate-guided, party-political approach that has dominated the country for generations.

I now know that I’m hardly alone in thinking, and feeling, that for too long the views and needs of ordinary people have been ignored by our “democracy.” The sense of powerlessness that I experienced after I lost my job, when I saw so many opportunities disappear – such as going back to college or university to re-train, as fees tripled beyond my reach and as I struggled to find enough work to pay the rent – I experienced this as an individual, but now I see it throughout my South London community.

Read the rest of this entry in Ceasefire Magazine »

Written by Ian Chamberlain

18 November 2011 at 14:36

Posted in Protest, Thought

Leave a Reply

